Notes for Euvid Lesson at the BIL
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Board 1. lewo *KQJ1098 Declarer has 5 top tricks. The extra tricks can come from clubs,
but if he wins the first trick with the #J, and West correctly holds up his A until the 3rd club, he will

never reach the dummy to enjoy those long clubs. Win the first trick with the MA. After the BA is
knocked out, use the 8K as transport to the dummy.
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Board 2: East's only rebid is 3 #. A 3NT is too dangerous without a
guaranteed stopper in the other 3 suits. West has an easy raise to 3NT. North leads the #9, taken in the
dummy. If declarer takes his 7 diamond tricks he will have to lead a low club to promote the 9th trick.
South must win the A and switch to hearts Leading the ¥KQ and the third heart gives the defenders 4
heart tricks and the %A to set the contract.
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Board 3: Ewo Declarer has 5 top tricks (given the lead of the #7) and will
promote the spades. Therefore, he needs all 5 of dummy's diamonds. But the diamonds become
blocked in his hand. He needs a dummy entry. He should use the Rule of 11 to determine from the
opening lead of the #7 that there are only 4 cards in the East, South and West hands combined. (11-
7=4). He can see all four, so North must have started with the #MAJ8. Hecan always force his way into



the dummy as long as he wins the first trick with the #K. If he takes it cheaply with the #9 or 10, the
defenders can always stop him from reaching the gold in them diamonds.
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Board 4: After South's balancing 2 &, North can either jump to 3NT or
cuebid 2 #, asking South to bid 3NT if he has a spade stopper. Whatever way, a spade will be led
because of West's opening 1 # bid. Declarer can count on the heart finesse since West opened and his
partner passed. But he also needs as least 5 clubs. How is he going to get back to his hand after the
clubs are set up? He must win the first spade with the ®A in dummy. Then he must overtake the &K

with the A and force out the Q. He wins the return from East and forces his way into his hand with
the #Q).
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Board 5: Declarer has 6 top tricks in the majors. He needs four clubs to

make his contract. East should lead the #5 from his longest suit. West wins the #A and returns the #Q.
East must overtake with the #K and force out the ®J. He should see the #109 fall on the first two tricks
and realize that the diamonds will run after the %A is taken. If he is greedy and plays a low diamond on

the #Q, hoping partner has a third diamond, declarer will have time to set up the clubs and still have the
4) stopper.
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Board 6: In 3NT, declarer has 5 top tricks. One more can be promoted
in diamonds and the clubs could provide the remaining 3 tricks. But the clubs are blocked in his hand
and he needs an entry to the dummy to enjoy the remaining clubs. If he wins the first diamond cheaply



on the board, the defenders can prevent him from getting to the dummy. He must win the first trick
with the #A. Now he can force his way into the dummy after unblocking the clubs
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Board 7: lew
3 more diamonds and a club. He will try to finesse his €Q, but if it loses, it loses to North. Therefore,
the &K must be put up in dummy. Now the &Q is safe from attack from North. If declarer plays low
from dummy, the &K will be taken when North gets in and plays the A,
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North leads the low club. Declarer has 5 top tricks and needs

West leads the #7 won by the #A in declarer's hand. There is

no use in holding up. The Rule of 7 says you must hold up 3 times — and you can’t. Declarer goes to
dummy to run the #Q but that loses to West's %K. West leads the #KQ, but the next spade is won by
East, who has no more clubs. Declarer makes the contract. East should use the Rule of 11 on the
original lead of the seven to determine that West's spades are all high. There are 4 spades higher than
the seven (11-7=4). East can see all of them on the first trick. He therefore, should ditch the #9 under
West's K or #Q to "get out of partner's way"



